City Government

City councilFort Mitchell City government operates as a Mayor-Council form of government under Kentucky statutes. The Mayor, who is elected every four years, serves as the top executive of the City and seven members of the City Council, who are elected every two years, serve as the legislative body of the City. The City Administrator is appointed by the Mayor with approval of the Council. The City Administrator is in charge of day-to-day activities. The City Council establishes positions of employment which are filled by the Mayor.

Regular meetings of City Council are held at 7:00 PM on the first and third Mondays of each month. Should any meeting night fall on a holiday, then that particular meeting is not held on that day and may be rescheduled for another date. The public is invited to attend council meetings.